UAE CLIMATE CHANGE RESEARCH NETWORK


About the Network

Overview
Climate change and its impacts constitute a rapidly growing area of research in the UAE. In order to expand and strengthen this research, the UAE Climate Change Research Network brings together a group of committed climate scientists and researchers to facilitate dissemination of knowledge and advance development of research collaborations. Network members are drawn from government, universities and other research entities.
Climate research is critical to understand short-term and long-term changes in temperature, sea level, precipitation, air quality, extreme weather events and other climate indicators, and to assess the impacts of these changes on environment, economy and society while defining appropriate adaptation measures. With this in view, the Network is geared towards furthering effective data collection and management, and advancing policy-relevant research on climate impacts and adaptation. Aiding the adoption of new research tools and methodologies relevant to the study of the UAE and wider Arabian Gulf region is a priority for the Network.

Objectives
The Network serves the following objectives:
  • Provides a forum to discuss topics of relevance to climate research in the UAE and the wider Arabian Gulf,
  • Facilitates knowledge exchange, and sharing of ongoing work and ideas for further research,
  • Facilitates identification of recurring research challenges and their solutions,
  • Allows government and academia to together identify knowledge and data gaps, and define a relevant climate science agenda for the country,
  • Acts as a springboard for research collaborations and joint research projects, and
  • Provides opportunities for climate scientists in the region to engage with each other and with researchers from other countries.

How We Work
The members of the UAE Climate Change Research Network are organized into Research Clusters.  The UAE Ministry of Climate Change and Environment acts as the Secretariat of the Network and closely works with members on the Network’s activities. The Network’s engagements are led by two Co-Chairpersons who are identified from amongst the members.

شبكة الإمارات العربية المتحدة لأبحاث تغير المناخ


نبذة عن الشبكة/ الرابطة

نبذة
يشكل تغير المناخ وآثاره الناتجة من مجالات البحث المتنامية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. ومن أجل توسيع وتعزيز هذه البحوث، تجمع شبكة الإمارات العربية المتحدة لأبحاث تغير المناخ مجموعة من علماء المناخ والباحثين الملتزمين لتسهيل نشر المعرفة وتعزيز تطوير التعاون البحثي. حيث يتم اختيار أعضاء الشبكة من مختلف الجهات الحكومية والجامعات والمراكز البحثية المختلفة.
تعتبر البحوث المناخية بالغة الأهمية لفهم التغيرات القصيرة الأجل والطويلة الأجل في درجات الحرارة، ومستوى سطح البحر، وهطول الأمطار، ونوعية الهواء، والظواهر الجوية الشديدة، وغيرها من مؤشرات المناخ، وتقييم آثار هذه التغيرات على البيئة والاقتصاد والمجتمع مع تحديد تدابير التكيف المناسبة. ومن هذا المنطلق، فإن الشبكة موجهة نحو تعزيز فعالية جمع البيانات وإدارتها، والنهوض بالبحوث ذات الصلة بالسياسات العامة بشأن التأثيرات المناخية والتكيف معها. والمساعدة على اعتماد أدوات ومنهجيات بحثية جديدة ذات صلة بدراسة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ومنطقة الخليج العربي الأوسع والتي تعد أولوية للشبكة.

الأهداف
تخدم الشبكة الأهداف التالية:
  • توفير منصة لمناقشة الموضوعات ذات الصلة بأبحاث المناخ في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والخليج العربي
  • تيسير تبادل المعارف، وتبادل الأعمال والأفكار لإجراء مزيد من أبحاث المناخ
  • تسهيل عملية تحديد التحديات التي تواجه الأبحاث والحلول المقترحة
  • السماح للحكومة والأوساط الأكاديمية بتحديد الثغرات المتواجدة في نطاق المعرفة والبيانات وتحديد جدول أعمال خاص بعلوم المناخ في الدولة
  • تعزيز التعاون البحثي والمشاريع البحثية المشتركة
  • توفير الفرص لعلماء المناخ في المنطقة للمشاركة مع بعضهم البعض ومع الباحثين من دول أخرى

آلية العمل
يتم تنظيم أعضاء شبكة الإمارات العربية المتحدة لأبحاث تغير المناخ في مجموعات بحثية. حيث تقوم وزارة التغير المناخي والبيئة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بالأعمال المناطة بالأمانة العامة للشبكة، وذلك لضمان التنسيق المتواصل لأنشطة الشبكة. حيث يترأس الشبكة رئيسان يتم تحديدهما من بين الأعضاء.