Accessibility Settings

Select Your Theme

X

About the Ministry

Throughout the history of the United Arab Emirates, the environment has been a priority concern with strong institutional mechanisms to enhance environmental protection - starting with the foundation of the Supreme Committee for Environment in 1975, the Federal Authority for Environment in 1993, and the Ministry of Environment and Water in 2006. These developments reflect the increasing concern placed on environmental issues, at both the local and global levels, and the importance of addressing these concerns through the development of appropriate policies and regulations.

In 2016, the UAE leadership expanded the role of the Ministry of Environment and Water, to manage all aspects related to international and domestic climate change affairs. The establishment of the newly named Ministry of Climate Change and Environment is an important milestone. It enhances the UAE’s efforts to addressing the issue of climate change, through the implementation of comprehensive policies and initiatives to mitigate and adapt to climate change and protect our unique environmental systems.  

The Ministry of Climate Change and Environment will continue to enhance domestic efforts across all fields relating to its functions, so as to achieve sustainable development and to maintain the UAE’s position as a regional and international leader of action. The Ministry will continue to support partnerships with governments and non-governmental partners. The Ministry shall follow the guiding principle established by our wise leaders and continue to build on the achievements over the previous years.

الإعدادات

ألوان العرض

X

نبذة عن الوزارة

شهدت مسيرة العمل البيئي طوال أربعة عقود  تطورات مهمة على الصعيد المؤسسي، بدءاً من اللجنة العليا للبيئة في عام 1975، مروراً بالهيئة الاتحادية للبيئة في عام 1993 ثم بوزارة البيئة والمياه عام 2006، بهدف رسم الاستراتيجيات البيئية وتحديد  أولويات العمل البيئي وحماية الموارد الطبيعية. وقد عكست هذه التطورات مراحل الاهتمام بالقضايا البيئية  محلياً  ودولياً من جهة، وتطور النظرة إلى قيمة البُعد البيئي في التنمية الشاملة بدولة الإمارات من جهة أخرى.

وجاء إضافة ملف التغير المناخي في عام 2016 ليُمثّل محطة مهمة في هذه المسيرة، ويعزز الجهود الوطنية الخاصة بالتعامل مع قضايا التغير المناخي لحماية مصالح الدولة على المستوى الدولي والحد من تداعياتها على النظم البيئية والاقتصادية على المستوى المحلي، عبر اتخاذ مجموعة من التدابير والإجراءات الوقائية والسياسات للحد من المخاطر المرتبطة بالمناخ و التكيف مع اثاره.

وسوف تواصل الوزارة العمل في المرحلة القادمة على تطوير الجهود الوطنية في كافة المجالات ذات الصلة باختصاصاتها لتحقيق التنمية المستدامة المنشودة والارتقاء بالمكانة المرموقة لدولة الإمارات على الصعيدين الإقليمي والدولي، وذلك من خلال تعزيز الشراكات القائمة وبناء شراكات جديدة مع كافة أصحاب المصلحة في القطاعين الحكومي والخاص، مستندة في ذلك رؤية وفلسفة قيادتنا الرشيدة، والى المكتسبات التي تحققت طوال السنوات الماضية.